NEET UG 2026: photo, signature and fingerprint sizes
NEET (UG) 2026 asks for a passport-size photo (colour or black and white, white background, the face about 80% of the image, taken on or after 1 January 2026), a signature, and an image of the fingers and thumb impressions of both hands. A live photo is also taken and matched with your Aadhaar.
The bulletin gives file sizes in KB but no pixel sizes, and it states two different ranges for the fingerprint image. Our tool aims for the range that satisfies both. The NEET (UG) 2027 bulletin has not been released yet.
Verified Verified, with one conflict in the bulletin
Official sources: NTA Information Bulletin NEET (UG)-2026 (February 2026) (opens official PDF). Last checked 2 November 2026.
Upload rules
| Item | Format | Pixel size | File size | Other rules | Status | Where in the notice |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport-size photo | JPG/JPEG | Not stated Tool default: 276 × 354 px = 3.5 × 4.5 cm at 200 DPI — our default, not from the notice. | 10-200 KB Tool aims for 10,240-200,000 bytes. |
| Verified | Chapter 3, Step 2 (d), p.16-17 |
| Signature | JPG/JPEG | Not stated Tool default: 400 × 150 px is our default — our default, not from the notice. | 10-100 KB Tool aims for 10,240-100,000 bytes. | — | Verified | Chapter 3, Step 2 (d), p.16 |
| Left and right hand fingers and thumb impressions | JPG/JPEG | Not stated Tool default: Shape follows your sheet; long side 1600 px is our default — our default, not from the notice. | 10-200 KB or 50-300 KB (conflict) Tool aims for 51,200-200,000 bytes. |
| Conflict | item (iii), p.16 and p.17 |
| Category / Class X certificate / marksheet / address proof and other documents | — | 50-300 KB Tool aims for 51,200-300,000 bytes. | — | Verified | Chapter 3, Step 2 (d) | |
| Identity proof (non-Aadhaar route) | JPG/JPEG | — | 10-200 KB | — | Verified | Chapter 3, Step 2 (d) |
Source: NTA Information Bulletin NEET (UG)-2026 (February 2026) (opens official PDF) · Last checked 02-11-2026
Conflicts in the official documents
- Left and right hand fingers and thumb impressions: 10-200 KB (item (iii), p.16) vs 50-300 KB (p.17). The tool aims for 50-200 KB, which satisfies both.
Notices, dates and age limits
NEET (UG) 2026 Verified
Source: NTA Information Bulletin NEET (UG)-2026 (February 2026) (opens official PDF) · Last checked 02-11-2026
- Information Bulletin released: February 2026
Age limit
- NEET (UG) 2026 – at least 17 (no upper limit): as on 31-12-2026, born on or before 31-12-2009. Check your date of birth
No upper age limit (the bulletin cites an NMC letter).
The NEET (UG) 2027 bulletin is expected in early 2027.
Relaxations of the upper age limit for some categories are listed in each notice.
Tips for NEET UG
- Take a new photo: it must be taken on or after 1 January 2026, with a white background and your ears visible.
- Keep 6-8 passport-size prints and 4-6 postcard-size (4" × 6") prints of the same photo with a white background. They are not uploaded, but the bulletin asks you to keep them.
- Fingerprints: follow the bulletin’s instructions for taking the impressions of both hands on white paper, then use the signature tool’s Thumb tab with the NEET fingerprints preset.
- The bulletin allows a black-and-white photo; the photo tool has a black-and-white option for this preset only.
Before you upload
Rules can change. Check the official notice before you upload. अपलोड करने से पहले आधिकारिक नोटिस ज़रूर देखें। ExamKit is not affiliated with SSC, RRB, IBPS, SBI, UPSC, NTA, India Post or any government body. We copy the upload rules from official notices for convenience and link to them. We are not responsible for rejected applications.
Status meanings: Verified = read directly in the official document; Verified (indirect) = seen only through a search-engine excerpt of the official document, to be re-checked; Not verified = no official source read; Conflict = two official places disagree.