UPSC Civil Services: photo and signature rules (2026 notice)

UPSC’s Civil Services 2026 notice asks you to upload a photograph and also capture a live photo in the Common Application Form. The signature image is unusual: you sign three times, one below the other, on plain white paper in black ink, and upload that as one image.

The CSE notice does not give file sizes. UPSC’s ESE 2027 notice, which uses the same online portal, says .jpg files of 20-300 KB each. Current notices do not state pixel sizes, so our tool uses its own default and labels it clearly.

Partly verified Rules verified; pixel sizes not stated in current notices

Official sources: UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE (04-02-2026) (opens official PDF); UPSC Examination Notice No. 02/2027-ENGG (same online portal as CSE) (16-09-2026) (opens official PDF). Last checked 2 November 2026.

Upload rules

UPSC Civil Services Examination 2026 Partly verified
ItemFormatPixel sizeFile sizeOther rulesStatusWhere in the notice
Photograph.jpgNot stated (not verified)
Tool default: 350 × 450 px is our default; the legacy OTR FAQ mentioned 350-1000 px, but current notices give no pixel size — our default, not from the notice.
20-300 KB
Tool aims for 20,480-300,000 bytes.
  • Upload a photograph and capture a live photograph in the Common Application Form
  • Detailed rules are on upsconline.nic.in under Instructions and FAQs (that page was not publicly reachable on 2 Nov 2026)
  • File type and size from the ESE 2027 notice (same portal)

Use these settings ये सेटिंग इस्तेमाल करें

Verified (indirect)CSE 2026 Note 2; ESE 2027 “Salient features” item 4
Signature (three times).jpgNot stated (not verified)
Tool default: 400 × 400 px is our default — our default, not from the notice.
20-300 KB
Tool aims for 20,480-300,000 bytes.
  • Sign three times, one below the other, on plain white paper in black ink
  • Upload in the Common Application Form

Use these settings ये सेटिंग इस्तेमाल करें

Verified (indirect)CSE 2026 Note 3; size from ESE 2027 item 4
Pixel size—Not stated—
  • Not stated in current notices. The legacy OTR FAQ said 350-1000 px width and height.
Not verifiedLegacy OTR FAQ (old portal) (UPSC legacy OTR portal FAQ (old portal; context only))
Name and date printed on the photo; photo age———
  • Claimed by third-party websites from old UPSC portals; not in the CSE 2026 notice
Not verified—

Source: UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE (04-02-2026) (opens official PDF); UPSC Examination Notice No. 02/2027-ENGG (same online portal as CSE) (16-09-2026) (opens official PDF) · Last checked 02-11-2026

Notices, dates and age limits

UPSC CSE 2026 (Notice 05/2026-CSE) Verified

Source: UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE (04-02-2026) (opens official PDF) · Last checked 02-11-2026

Age limit

The CSE 2027 notice is expected in early 2027; this page will be re-checked then.

Relaxations of the upper age limit for some categories are listed in each notice.

Tips for UPSC Civil Services

Before you upload

Rules can change. Check the official notice before you upload. अपलोड करने से पहले आधिकारिक नोटिस ज़रूर देखें। ExamKit is not affiliated with SSC, RRB, IBPS, SBI, UPSC, NTA, India Post or any government body. We copy the upload rules from official notices for convenience and link to them. We are not responsible for rejected applications.

Status meanings: Verified = read directly in the official document; Verified (indirect) = seen only through a search-engine excerpt of the official document, to be re-checked; Not verified = no official source read; Conflict = two official places disagree.